Simple but significant

Strong quotes on design

MM_main

Whilst cleaning up in the studio this week, I came across some collected quotes on design that I gathered together a while back. So many quotes attributed to designers sound pretentious, bordering on the ridiculous to me (I’m looking at you, Philippe Starck) – there’s a a tendency to try to impress with big words.

I find myself more impressed by someone who can get their point across succinctly.
……………………………

“It took me a few seconds to draw it, but it took me 34 years to learn how to draw it in a few seconds.” – Paula Scher

“Try not to become a man of success, but rather a man of value.” – Albert Einstein

“Think 8 hours, work 2 hours.” – Mirko Ilic

“Whenever I draw a circle, I immediately want to step out of it.” – Buckminster Fuller

“No Watson, this was not done by accident, but by design.” – Sherlock Holmes

“You can’t wait for inspiration, you have to go after it with a club” – Jack London

“It’s amazing how much you can get done in a day if you just sit and do it.” – Bill Tregle’s Dad

“Don’t find customers for your products, find products for your customers.” – Seth Godin

“I’ve been amazed at how often those outside the discipline of design assume that what designers do is decoration. Good design is problem solving.” – Jeffrey Veen

“People ignore design that ignores people.” – Frank Chimero

“A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.” – Douglas Adams

“Computers are to design as microwaves are to cooking.” – Milton Glaser

“Make it simple, but significant.” – Don Draper

Leave a comment